‘We try to follow Jesus in everything we do’





St Margaret Mary’s Curriculum Statement

We try to follow Jesus in everything we do.


At St Margaret Mary’s our curriculum in is rooted in our mission and virtues.

Through our mission and virtues, we have Christ at the centre of our provision, nurturing the whole child and providing opportunities for all children to develop and fulfil their gifts and talents beyond the statutory documents of the National Curriculum, Salford Diocese Guidelines and Early Years Progress Model.

Our curriculum is aspirational for all, ensuring pupils develop & experience our virtues in their hearts and minds and continue to grow to be curious and active, global citizens of the world. Each aspect of our curriculum is designed so that learning is built upon in small steps to reach the intended outcomes and enabling children to become learned and wise. They will develop skills and knowledge for learning and for life.

At St Margaret Mary’s we intend for the curriculum and wider opportunities to be exciting and interesting while promoting equality and celebrating diversity, respecting the rights and dignity of all. Through this we will grow to be eloquent and truthful to ourselves and the world around us.

As a community we witness our children becoming grateful and generous with their gifts creating an atmosphere which prepares the children for modern life in New Moston, Manchester and the wider world. We challenge our children to be attentive and discerning through reflecting on their learning, the issues facing their community, the wider world and their place in this.

Our innovative, creative and ambitious approach is reflected in the expectations of our children, to at least achieve the standards set out in our Early Years Progress Model by the end of Reception and in the RECD (Religious Education Catholic Directory) & National Curriculum for Years 1 to 6 in; R.E., reading, writing, mathematics and science. In other subjects, we have clearly defined expectations of children’s’ learning for Years 1 to 6 to enable children to learn, recall and utilise the knowledge, concepts and skills that will enable them to achieve ambitious outcomes and inspire them for adult life, identifying practical value in all their learning opportunities. Our curriculum ambitiously sets out to promote independence, confidence and resilience in both thinking and application.



At St Margaret Mary’s the curriculum in place for all learners is organised through our Early Years Progress Model and through the programmes of study of the National Curriculum for all subjects from Years 1 – 6.

Our curriculum is organised as both a knowledge based and skill based one. Learning is carefully sequenced to enable progression through age-related expectations for each year group (Years 1 – 6) in all subjects, to at least meet National Curriculum expectations in English, Mathematics and Science and to meet school expectations in all other subjects. The RE curriculum meets the expectations set out in the RECD.

As we have mixed age classes, the curriculum in non-core subjects is taught over a two-year cycle across the whole school. Within each subject, there are key strands of learning which are taught and then re-visited to enable pupils to build upon and deepen their knowledge, skills and memory.  Topics are carefully organised to identify the key knowledge, skills and concepts that children are expected to learn within the topic.

To explore the wider and rich experiences of the curriculum we also celebrate thematic days or weeks during the year and focused projects. This enables the children to celebrate the Liturgical Calendar, Science weeks, English national events, maths days plus world/local events and celebrations as they happen.

At St Margaret Mary’s our consistent and innovative approach to teaching and learning supports the curriculum by ensuring that lessons build on prior learning and provide sufficient opportunity for guided and independent practice.


The key features of learning are that pupils are:

  • expected to build on their prior learning and understanding.
  • expected to ask their own questions about their learning.
  • provided with big questions to raise higher order thinking skills.
  • given opportunities to engage in independent learning and to ‘find out’ for themselves.
  • provided with different, bespoke approaches used to stimulate pupils and meet their different learning needs.
  • provided with high quality, carefully chosen, up-to-date resources that promote equality & celebrate diversity.
  • provided with real life examples to give meaning, purpose and context to their learning.
  • expected to use subject specific vocabulary correctly.
  • encouraged to be aspirational and challenge themselves in their learning.
  • provided with opportunities and encouraged to practice the application of their skills and knowledge in all of their learning with resilience and confidence.



As a result of this most children will:

  • grow in the virtues and learning intentions that are carefully planned for them and encouraged during their primary school journey.
  • be generous and grateful, attentive and discerning, compassionate and loving, faith-filled and hopeful, eloquent and truthful, curious and active, prophetic and intentional. Being the people that God called them to be and witnesses to the Gospel.
  • make good and sustained progress throughout year groups across all subjects, including R.E., English and mathematics, and achieve to the very best of their ability and potential.
  • be able to access the curriculum and experience a rich and aspirational provision, regardless of their background and needs, achieving best possible outcomes and being who they are called to be.
  • have excellent and positive attitudes to learning that are of an equally high standard across all year groups and subjects.
  • be well prepared for the next stage in their education and life.
  • be stewards of all creation and positive advocates of the world that they are a part of.
  • recognise the dignity and humanity of all whom they meet.
  • be confident in articulating their emotions and beliefs, recognising diversity and being advocates of equality.



Files to Download

Other pages

Get in Touch

St Margaret Mary's R.C. Primary School

St Margaret’s Road, New Moston, Manchester, M40 0JE

T: 01616811504

Outside Enquiries:contact@st-margaretmarys.manchester.sch.uk

Parental Enquiries:4.parents@st-margaretmarys.manchester.sch.uk

Parental Enquiries:admissions@st-margaretmarys.manchester.sch.uk

Student Login